Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

All change

It's inevitable that, as you get accustomed to living in, and using, a new place, you change your mind about things.  We've been building up to some changes.

Today, I emptied two bookcases before jumping on the exercise bike.  I piled the books quite carefully, as I didn't want to have to sort them again.

After exercising, I photographed, and advertised on Donedeal, a sleeper couch.  This has a bit of history - soon after W and I met, he asked me to accompany him whilst he was shopping for a sleeper couch for his house.  He opted for quite a top of the range couch.  It was very little (if at all) used before things moved on, and we set up house together.  In Norfolk, it got some use in our office/studio as an occasional visitor bed.  We brought it from the UK, but in the end, it just wasn't the right piece of furniture for the way we're using this house, and has been superseded by the stacking beds we bought yesterday.  Bookcase moving is to facilitate the use of the book room as a bedroom.

After lunch we were planning some painting time in the workshop, but just as we were setting up, I got a phone call in response to the advert - "we'll be there in about an hour".  So instead of painting, we moved one of the bookcases I had emptied.  Then W did go to do some painting, whilst I made a start on refilling the first bookcase.  

The buyers for our sleeper couch arrived, and spun us a wonderful tale about wanting to donate it to some Ukrainian refugees, one of whom is sleeping on the floor.  Pretty certain this was just a tale, but they got it for half the price we'd advertised it for.  But we got what we wanted - the couch gone with minimal fuss and effort.

After they left, W returned to painting, and I finished refilling the first bookcase, and moved and refilled the second one.  So these piles of books are already cleared away!

Quite a satisfactory day, but I still need to paint the workshop ceiling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.