Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Seaside

EB tonight of the Sea Urchin painted on driftwood that I bought in Haddington on Monday. I sprayed it with clear varnish yesterday in case it hadn't already been done and now it is sitting on the cistern in the bathroom. I rather like it.
It was disappointingly cold this morning, although it did warm up this afternoon. I headed across to The Inch nursery which belongs to the city council. I've always assumed that is where plants are grown for the, increasingly reducing in number, floral displays in the city. I wanted some colour to fill up the pots in the front garden. I picked up some petunias and geraniums as well as a few other odds and ends and a gooseberry bush, because it's one berry fruit which I don't have growing and I love them.
By the time I got home it had warmed up again so I set to work. The front pots are looking much brighter now and the left over plants have been distributed around some of the pots in the back. The gooseberry is in a pot too till I see if I'm going to fall victim to sawfly caterpillars, if so I'll likely just concede defeat at the end of the first round.
Tomorrow's job is to try to find a way to use the jute net I've bought to support the sweet peas.
Thanks for the comment on the girls in yesterday's extra. I'll take it down again in a couple of days, I'd forgotten just how excited Isobel was to be starting school. She's almost finished P2 now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.