Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Culross

I spent this morning chasing back and forward along the, thankfully quiet, bypass buying a new car seat for Josie. All fitted and in place now and ready for our morning together tomorrow.
When I got home around 1.30, we decided to head across to Culross, our visitor last week enjoyed it and we haven't been for many years. Just after we arrived the sun came out and we enjoyed wandering in the sunshine.
The extra has views of the palace, the painted ceilings of which date from the 1600s and are quite remarkable. The information signs were very useful and clear. I was impressed.
The gardens behind are built in steep terraces into the side of the hill and are just coming into their own. Lots of wonderfully scented old fashioned roses. The currants against the south facing wall are going to have a huge crop and I was intrigued to see a named variety of apple called East Lothian Pippins.
My main blip is of a flower, new to me although I did identify it correctly as a dianthus. It's most unusual and apparently is a dianthus giganteus. It was over two feet tall.
If you haven't been to Culross for a while it's well worth a visit and the food we had in the Biscuit tearoom above the pottery was delicious with lovely friendly young staff. .
A lot of the buildings may be familiar as many of the buildings are used in the filming of Outlander, or Cross Stitch as I stubbornly insist on calling it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.