iaint

By iaint

Memory

Most days I check the weather forecast while caffeinating myself - what I find may have an impact on what goes into my task list. 

That is what I did this morning. Then, while downing my second coffee, I noticed it was raining. I checked the forecast - no rain at all expected for the next 10 days. I took a screenshot for proof I was not going gaga. 

I got stuff done - after editing the task list a bit, obviously. 

One item was to go to the library. I got my Blip in the railway underpass between the car park and the library. 

I am pretty sure I have only been to an opera twice. I know the first time (very memorable) was in Vilnius in October 1993. It was La Traviata. 

The other was in Prague about 8-9 years ago. When I saw the Scottish Opera poster I was pretty sure it was Carmen we saw in Prague, but memory can be a tricky thing especially with the word ""Carmen" right there in front of you. 

Well, later in the afternoon I checked my Blips for that visit to Prague, and my memory was right!. Well done Blip. Well done me. 

That visit to Vilnius - the first of many - was amazing for a whole host of reasons, and Saturday night at the opera courtesy of our hosts was a big one. 

When we arrived at the opera house - a garish 1960s Soviet edifice - we discovered that Lithuanian "champagne" was £1 a bottle in the bar. We had a bottle between 3 of us before the curtain went up, and at each interval.

It was very jolly in an austere post-Soviet way. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.