Road to Freedom

Day 2.

Adjusting to the 2 hour time difference has been the usual challenge. I woke about 7am, which is good, and that helped me adjust to eating at local times. 

Apart from that, my plans were limited. I wanted to familiarise myself with the neighbourhood I am staying in - Stabu iela, at Brīvības iela, a 20 minute walk east of the Old Town (Vecrīga). 

Next on my list was a walk into Vecrīga for lunch. Sadly, my favourite lunch spot has closed down but I found a good substitute nearby. 

I had clocked up 13,000 steps by 2pm. 

My Blip is the Brīvības piemineklis (Freedom Monument) erected in 1935 to commemorate those who died in the Latvian War of Independence (1918-20) fought against Soviet Russia. 

Most people see it from the other side (Extra) as they approach it from Vecrīga. 

The city is one of those places which stimulates long forgotten memories at almost every corner. My first today was provoked by passing a particular Latvian Government building where I attended an interview back in the 90s for a project we had tendered for. 

After our interview our intended (Danish) project leader phoned the local Danish ambassador and got us invited us to the embassy for a few beers (it was Friday afternoon, so the doors were closed). There we were, drinking the Danish Government’s Tuborg in the embassy gardens, passing the time until our flight back to Copenhagen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.