biddy

By biddy

The time for poppies.

I had my winter sweater on first thing again this morning. Very chilly outside with an equally chilly wind.
We were going to meet our son and the two youngest grandchildren at the park near their home. It is a very open area and the strong chilly breeze can certainly blow around there.
Towards mid morning the sun had managed to disperse the clouds for once, and the sky was a beautiful clear deep blue.
The play equipment was used to the full, hide and seek took place, and games they had brought with them to use on the large open grass areas utilised.
When it was lunchtime after they went home, we took ourselves off to the nearby farm shop and café and had a sandwich and drink sitting at one of the outside tables which are in a sheltered spot.
After lunch it began to feel warmer outside.Stephen had an appointment to see a client, so I sat in the summerhouse with the door open reading my book, having finished my last one.
This is a P D James novel called “An unsuitable job for a woman”.
I’m only a short way into it and know I am going to enjoy it.
A little later on in the afternoon, I mowed the grass nearest to the house.
It is already very dry!
The top lawn (euphemism!) will wait a bit longer.
I am going to use the hosepipe on the beds shortly as the plants need to be watered.
I think it is going to be another chilly night. The temperatures are going to be around 5C eventually.
I will need another hot water bottle!
In the park where we were this morning, they have some flower beds which contained some beautiful poppies. I have seen quite a lot now around our neighbourhood.
Hope everyone has a nice weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.