Teasel

By Teasel

University of Glasgow

A public holiday for me and  another day/week off for BB.  In the past I used to get this bank holiday all to myself as TT doesn’t get it and BB would normally be at school.  However, this year BB is still on exam leave and had asked if we could go to Glasgow, as he wanted to see the University.  I was happy to accompany him to Glasgow, especially as I used to work at the University of Glasgow.  The train to Glasgow was very quiet, but Glasgow felt very busy. 
 
I decided to show him Strathclyde University – just because it is so close to the station, so that was our first destination.  We wandered around the campus, and I reminisced about being on a course at the Business School there, so many years ago, I can’t quite remember.  As we were in the vicinity of Glasgow Cathedral we wandered over there.  Even though I lived and worked in Glasgow for a  number of years, I have never visited the Cathedral before,. It was busy, so we just had a quick wander around, with a thought to come back another time. 
 
We wandered back into town and then along Sauchiehall Street to the West End.  We were going to stop for lunch, but couldn’t decide where to go, until BB said he didn’t want to eat anything hot, as it was just too hot.  He suggested we just buy some sandwiches and go and sit in the part, which is exactly what we did.  Being a scorching hot day on a bank Holiday, Kelvingrove Park was busy, but we managed to get a bench near the fountain where we ate our lunch and people watched.  We enjoyed the sunshine for a while, then continued our wander up to the University and had a wander around the campus.  I worked here for a years and don’t think I ever really appreciated the magnificent architecture properly. Today I was a tourist appreciated it in a different way.  Being a bank holiday it was very quiet, which was lovely and not how I remember it , always busy with students milling around.   We wandered past a whole lot of very new buildings down to Byres Road, and then walked along the road, where I did more reminiscing!  Eventually we walked back to the Park and then continued back into town to the station.  We picked up some food for the boy who said he was starving and caught a train back to Edinburgh.  Again the train was pretty quiet.  Once back in Edinburgh, we didn’t have long to wait on our bus home.  I was gazing out the window amazed that the sky was still so blue, but when we got off the bus, the first thing we had to do was put our jumpers on.  That cold east wind meant the temperature was much cooler than it had been in Glasgow.
 
I made tea after we got home, and later I went for a walk around the block – with a jacket on!  It’s been a lovely day.  I’m not sure what BB made of it all.  He’s not said much.  If he’s still interested he needs to go to an open day to find out more.
 
  I struggled to get a decent picture of the main building, where my first office was.  The first extra is a window in the cathedral, the second is a Glasgow lamp post.
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.