Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Big news

The house is ours!

We made the owners an offer they couldn’t refuse - or at least didn’t - and it was all done in the blink of an eye: the offer was made on Wednesday evening and accepted on Thursday afternoon. Maybe we could have shaved off a few dozen ks from our offer, but we already thought offering 10% below the asked price was a bargain.

Our bank will loan us part of the money we need until we’ve sold our current house - and even they didn’t pose any problem, they just went along with what we asked for. Sure we’ve been banking with them with no glitches for about twenty years, but still… I was pleasantly surprised by how smoothly it all went down.

I really am very happy, even though there are still a few hurdles to jump - not so much for me as for Julie, actually, as she now has to organise the move.

I now have (or will have, in a few months’ time) a house to go back to when the time comes; when that time will be is still uncertain as I don’t know if I’ll have my surgery soon or not - or at all…

More about that on the 21st…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.