Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

At the cinema

I went to see L’Île rouge, which is the autobiographical tale of the director’s last few years in Madagascar when he was a child, just before the French army (his father was in the air force) had to leave the country in 1971, a whole 12 years after Madagascar gained its independence.

Although I found the end a bit abrupt, I liked the film quite a lot, not least because I lived on Reunion island when I was roughly the same age (8-12 yo for me) and although the political situation was completely different and I was there more than ten years later, I could still relate to some of the situations, notably the expat way of life in the tropics…

Also, my appointment with the neurosurgeon is now in seven days. I can’t wait!

Also also, we have signed the preliminary paperwork for the house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.