Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Tylney Hall Gardens

This 4* hotel near Hook in Hampshire opens its magnificent 66 acre grounds for charity on a few days per year; it also allows entry for RHS members under their Partner Garden Scheme most days. So today I dug out the membership card and investigated.

I spent a happy afternoon strolling round the grounds with its numerous ponds which were already alive with damselflies and dragonflies - oh why did I leave the long lens in the car? At least one came near enough to capture with the 105mm lens (extra).

There are also a number of areas left to wild flowers, and to my joy the orchids are beginning to flower. Even better, this pair were being investigated by a hoverfly, which my internet search further identifies as a marmalade hoverfly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.