Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

All roads lead to Rome!

I'm absolutely wiped out, think I've got a virus, and there's no way I could've walked today. So I didn't. 

I caught the bus from The Sill to Chesters Roman Fort and Museum and was surprised when it pulled into Vindolanda. I hadn't visited there before so got off the bus and had a look round, before catching the next bus to Chesters. Two places ticked off the list but honestly, once you've seen one ruined fort, you've seen them all.

I've had a lot of time to think these last three days, and I've come to the conclusion that I don't need to walk the whole wall again, just visit the bits we never got the chance to last year ie Birdoswald, Lanercost, Chesters and Vindolanda. 

I'm going home tomorrow, a bus to Haltwhistle then a train to Carlisle, and I hope I'll feel up to visiting the castle before I leave. Don't think that it's a shame, it isn't. I've walked the wall last year, and I've made the right decision this year.

Food
Fresh mixed fruit
Porridge and honey
Cheese scone and butter
One tuna mayo sandwich, thick bread so I couldn't eat the other
Apple
Crisps
Dinner to come - lovely small portion of fish, chips and pea puree. Suited me and I only left a few chips, but I imagine a lot of folk would've found the portion too small.

Extra of a Roman shoe shop in Vindolanda.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.