Moghul Warrior

I was in Glasgow early this morning, so as the sun was out I decided to go over to Park Circus.

I have not explored Kelvingrove Park from the Park Circus side, so I was intrigued by the Monument to Lord Frederick Sleigh Roberts,V.C., of Khandahar, Pretoria and Waterford (1916). In the distance you can see the distinctive spire of Glasgow University. When the light is different I will have to go back and photograph Lord Roberts on his fabulous horse.

Today I focused on the statue of War, which is below Lord Roberts. War is represented by a proud Moghul warrior, seated on a native cannon and dressed in traditional chain-mail tunic and helmet.

Roberts had become a legend with his epic retreat from Khabul to Khandahar during the Afghan War of 1878. This fabulous statue pays homage to the prowess of both armies who fought in the Afghan War.

The statue made me think that we never seem to learn our lessons from history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.