Homage to Mackintosh

It has been a busy day, and at lunch time I had to give a talk on Charles Rennie Mackintosh at Langside Library.

At Langside Library I was delighted to see actor and writer John Cairney was there to hear my presentation on Mackintosh. John is an old friend so it was good to have a chat after the talk.

When I got back to the Mackintosh Church I was inspired to take some shots of the tulips that Dylan had bought for the Church. The tulip was a favourite motif for Mackintosh throughtout his career, from carvings in the Mackintosh Church, to textile designs in Chelsea. The tulip was the only flower that Mackintosh used more than once in this sequence of paintings of cut flowers. 'Yellow Tulips' is possibly the best and one of the later paintings made just before the Mackintoshes left London for France in 1923.

This is my homage to Mackintosh. So hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.