JanetH

By JanetH

Wigan Flashes

Saturday 3rd June 2023

As I said yesterday, I prefer to have walked a route before I take the walking group out. So, this morning I was awake early and decided to go for a recce! I walked for 1hr 10mins at a fast pace, to check out the car park and a route around Wigan Flashes nature reserve. I was confident in the last third of the walk so didn't need to do that. 

I arrive home 25 mins before the group was due to leave. I did a quick freshen up and had a good drink, then went back out. To make it different for me, I decided to do part of the walk the opposite way and also decided to test out another loop ... so I was still making it up as I went, just with a bit more confidence. At one point I did get on a different track to the one I intended but because I recognised where I went first thing I was able to adjust my plan and do a figure of eight. It all worked out very well. I must admit, my feet were getting tired towards the end as I had effectively walked quite a bit further than I would usually say was about my limit. 

We then went off for lunch, again a successful untested choice. Because of the heat, most of us went for the salad option, which was delicious and filling. 

I've certainly done well on steps and brisk walking today.

p.s And even the fact that it was our walking group day didn't make the weather change! :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.