Marking Time

By Libra

How safe is your job?

I meet Linda, one of our refuse collectors this morning while I happen to be out in the garden.
It’s some time since I have seen her so we stop and  have a chat.
She is enthusiastic about her work:” I’ve been doing this for twenty-five years and I love it. 
 “ I am outdoors all the time. What’s not to like?“
 
But how safe is her job from AI and automation, I wonder though I do not express my fears to her.
 
So I ask Chat GPT. It gives a cautionary response.
 
Yes, in theory a robot could be developed to do Linda’s work but not in the near future. The job is complex and it’s likely to cause too much social unrest if a robot replaced workers like Linda.


What does ChatGPT consider “near future”?
 
The answer is chilling: two to three years because of the speed of technological development.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.