pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Before.....

..but I forgot to take an 'after' photo!

It has been a lovely day, and at last some sun reached us in North Norfolk after a dreary cold week. We were in Cromer by 10, making use of our free 3 hours car parking card (not free exactly, as I paid £56 for the card - but I'm getting my money's worth!) Mollie and Henry came with us, and after a browse in a couple of shops, we met up with Daniel and Josh and walked down to the newly fitted out 'Whitewater' cafe on the prom. Opposite The Rocket cafe where we often go. I like to be able to see the sea and it was good to try somewhere new.

Back home by midday and time to start the jobs we had on our list. Jon had things to do to the kitchen to finish it. Painting and cleaning up the tiles. It has been a while, but it's so hard to make the time. Meanwhile I got 2 loads of washing out, and then started to weed the patio area by the conservatory. I cleared a third before we had lunch (in the French Quarter, obviously!) Then I continued at the side of the house afterwards. Back breaking work. At about 4.30 I went to the allotment with Jon. We had piles of cuttings from the hedge which are littering our drive way and have been there for months. So after 2 trips it is now all at the allotment where it can be burnt. Jon left me to dig up these thistles, after which I planted my 10 weedy sweetcorn plants. There is space for kale, purple sprouting broccoli and spinach - although I've noticed a few of my seedlings are going to seed. It took me until 6.30. Bessie helped - although I uncovered a huge ants nest and tried my hardest to get her to eat the ants and eggs. She ate a few, but I don't think she liked the ants walking on her feet. She followed me round as usual, and we were company for each other for a few hours.

When I got home Jon was cooking a fry up for tea. Then we played a game of rummy. Watching Prof Alice Roberts in her programme about Ancient Egypt brings back happy memories of the family holiday we had in 1994. That was the last time we flew! I think that's why it's something I don't feel confident about these days. Good job we have our caravan!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.