Go Wild In The Country

A trip to Countryfest today, making the most of the lovely weather. I’ve always preferred the more laid back attitude of Countryfest to the formality of the County Show, and this year once again threw up an eclectic mix of exhibits and activities, as can be seen from the collage of photos. Where else could you see Fell Ponies, Kites, Giant Tortoises, Flyball and Classic Motorbikes all in the same place?!
The dry weather did mean quite a lot of dust though. The food tent seemed particularly affected, and I was surprised to see so many things on display without any sort of screen to stop them getting dusty. Factor in the heat as well and I definitely wouldn’t have risked some of the cakes on offer, especially the ones containing cream!
Bumped into a few people we knew and enjoyed a pint of shandy whilst listening to some of the music acts at lunchtime. I recall that in 2015, me and a few friends were one of those music acts. We’d put together an ad hoc band to perform at my 55th birthday party, and playing at Countryfest was a great chance to run through the numbers in front of an audience.
It’s days like these that make me appreciate how lucky I am to live in such a beautiful part of the country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.