Slow Ride

With the sun continuing to shine, I took the bike out for a spin this morning. No particular rush to be anywhere so I just cruised at a leisurely pace towards Barrow where I was meeting Stu for our weekly coffee.
The decision to ride more slowly proved to be a good one on the Levens by-pass as I cruised past the speed camera van at a sedate 50mph with a smug expression on my face! Keeping to the leisurely theme, I turned on to the coast road once I reached Ulverston. Stunning views across Morecambe Bay as I rode along - it was almost a shame to reach my destination.
After a coffee and a visit to the guitar shop (no purchases for me today, though Stuart put his name on a new acoustic) I headed back home, again at a leisurely pace, just enjoying the ride. It was only when I was almost home that I realised I hadn’t actually stopped and taken a picture of the bike against any of the lovely scenery I had ridden past.
Spying the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway up ahead, I pulled in and grabbed a photo in front of the station. My retro styled bike looked right at home and I was almost tempted to convert the picture to mono and pretend it was an old photo. The alloy wheels and disc brakes on my bike would have given the game away though!
Arrived home, had some lunch and then gave the bike a good clean before putting it away. It was a good ride out - warm, sunny and with little traffic. And every time I stopped, there was always someone who would smile and say hello or come over and start talking motorbikes. All in all, today was definitely a “feel good” day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.