Wreck on the Highway

After yesterday’s efforts in the gym, I didn’t really fancy going back this morning whilst Mrs C had her PT session. Instead, I decided to run down and meet her there when she finished. I had to modify my route however as I was not able to cross the usual bridge over the river due to a car lodged on the parapet. The inset picture is one I found on social media showing how far over the edge the car had gone.
But I’ve no idea how it ended up like that. It’s a one way road, but the angle of the car might suggest that it was trying to go the wrong way across the bridge. Either way, this is now the fourth such accident on that bridge in the last year or so - if you look closely at the inset pic, you can see where the last collision hasn’t yet been repaired.
Having grabbed a quick photo I continued my run, completing the 5K in not too bad a time. Strava reminded me that I’d done exactly the same route (in more or less the same time) exactly a year ago when I was trying out my new trainers for the first time. Pleased to say they’re still performing well.
A year ago I went straight into a PT session at the end of the run. Today I had to dash home and get changed as we had a full run rehearsal of the play this afternoon. It was useful to run with all (most!) of the sound and lighting cues and to practice with props, costumes and scene changes but, possibly because of having to work with all those extra elements, we really struggled with lines this afternoon. A night off tomorrow and an extra line run before we start the dress rehearsal on Tuesday will hopefully put things back on track. With so much pressure to get things right now, it’s strange to think that this time next week it will all be over…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.