On The Run

I’ve had my new running shoes for five days now, I’ve bedded them in around the house (and on a walk) and my tendon is feeling ok, so no excuses not to try them out in anger.
Decided I’d do one of my “go to” 5K routes, from home down to the gym. I had a PT Session booked anyway so, by running down, I wouldn’t need to do any cardio as a warm up. And “warm” was the operative word! Not too bad for the first half of the run as I could use the shady side of the street. But the last bit was in full sun, and I was definitely feeling it by the time I got to the gym. Fortunately, I’d arrived in good time so was able to cool down a bit before starting throwing weights around!
I posted a similar picture this time last year. On that day, I was worrying about the pandemic. Large crowds over the weekend and a big rise in cases forecast. So I went for a run to clear my mind and get a sense of perspective. I also notice my knee was heavily strapped. This year, I was just running for the fun of it - very similar news stories, but they don’t bother me now, as we’ve seen it all before and I’m fully vaccinated. And no strapping required on the knee - hasn’t been for a few months. As regards the other niggles, my tendon didn’t ache at all whilst running (bit sore now though!) and no cramp in either calf. Looks like the support built into the new shoes is doing it’s stuff! The left one felt slightly tight over the bridge of my foot, so maybe a bit of laces adjustment needed before I go out again. All in all, very pleased. Time wasn’t spectacular today but now I know how supportive they are, I can start pushing a bit harder. A cooler day would probably help as well. Only a couple of minutes to find to beat 30 minutes for the 5K, and that’s the goal I’m aiming for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.