Green Onions

Well, onions are also alliums aren’t they? And there are some green bits in amongst the purple, so I stand by my title for today!
Another fine day. Not quite as hot or sunny as yesterday, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. Walked into town for our usual Sunday coffee - even sat outside in Market Place due to the pleasanter/cooler conditions. A lot of people around - I’m guessing a fair few people at the end of their half term week away had decided to stop off in Kendal on the way home. I shudder to think how busy the motorways heading south will be later on today. Even managed a bit of retail therapy after coffee - a visit to The Works resulted in three new books to read.
Spent the afternoon just sitting on the deck, listening to Johnnie Walker’s Sounds of the 70s whilst soaking up the sun. I think we’ve used the new deck more times in the last few weeks than we used the old one in seventeen years! We bought some new solar powered lights for the garden, but I’ve also been cleaning the old ones - some of which were buried deep in the undergrowth - to see how many of them are still viable. So far it’s 50/50 between still working and only fit for the bin, but there are a couple I’m hoping might yet be resurrected with a good few hours exposure to the sun.
Trouble is, as we get near the longest day, it doesn’t get dark until quite late. I think it’s going to be a case of making a note of what is actually lit if either of us needs a bathroom visit in the middle of the night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.