I’m Like a Bird

The drone operator might have thought his device was like a bird, but the Oystercatchers definitely didn’t like it.
I’d combined exercise and shopping by walking down to Morrison’s, where Mrs C would pick me up. Whilst I was waiting for her, I heard birds screaming overhead. There were about half a dozen Oystercatchers swooping and circling overhead whilst continually letting out what were obviously distress or warning calls.
I couldn’t initially see what was causing this reaction, but then the drone descended into view. It seemed the birds were trying to drive it off, but none was bold enough to actually attack it.
By now, a lot of people were looking around for the pilot of the drone and he was eventually spotted outside the local taxi office. Leaving aside the distress being caused to the birds, I’m fairly certain it’s illegal to fly a drone over a supermarket car park without the requisite licence or permit. Whatever, the guy seemed to be suddenly aware of the attention he was attracting and the drone was swiftly brought back down to earth.
Popped across the road to Aldi, where we made the mistake of browsing the middle aisles. Who knew we needed loads of new solar lights for the garden? Which threw up a slight problem as I’d only gone in for a pizza. But add in all the other things Mrs C put in the basket before disappearing back across the road to retrieve the car, and my decision not to bring a bag with me looked like it could have been a mistake. I thought perhaps I could just put everything back in the basket and carry it out to the car, but the sirens going off as I approached the door put paid to that idea! It seems the baskets are not permitted to leave the store so I ended up struggling out with a precarious pile of shopping in my arms.
Luckily, I managed to hang on to the packet of chocolate eclairs that had “accidentally” fallen into the basket after Mrs C had left...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.