Rehab

My current gym programme was originally set up in October 2019, with slight tweaks in January 2020 to help with back and knee injuries. And I was just getting to grips with it, when lockdown one happened, and that was it for five months. When we could finally get back in the gym, it took a few months just to build the strength back to pre-lockdown levels.
I managed to keep the strength up through lockdown two, so was able to get back into training properly pretty quickly after the gyms reopened in April. But it soon became apparent that the programme was now way out of date. My back and knee are fully recovered, but new injuries have surfaced in shoulder and Achilles tendon. Also, I don’t really need a “legs” day any more as I am doing the running and walking now, that I wasn’t doing in 2019.
My trainer very kindly drew up a new programme for me over the Bank Holiday weekend, and we had a session today to try out some of the unfamiliar exercises. All pretty straightforward once demonstrated and I can see how they will help the injured areas.
So I’ve now got a “Push” day, a “Pull” day and what we’ve decided to call “Rehab” day, because “Injury day” sounded too violent! Add in a weekly PT session and some regular running, and I think I can safely say I’ll be getting enough exercise each week to keep the doctor happy when it comes to my Diabetes review next month. All I need now is for the injuries to heal and then I can start pushing for some new PBs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.