Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Ely Cathedral

I spent the day at Ely Cathedral as it was the Open University’s Graduation Day.
 
The journey was a night mare; no trains due to driver’s striking. So as I wanted to visit my husband at the end of the day I drove to the Babraham Park and Ride and then got a bus to the railway station to get a taxi. I was in Ely rather early at 8.30am so went into café Nero where I had coffee and cake. I had thought about getting a bus, but the Park and Ride buses do not start very early on a Saturday and if I had just missed one I would have to wait at least an hour and maybe miss the first ceremony.
 
It was a lovely day and I processed in both ceremonies. I had a decent lunch and talked to many old colleagues as well as other Open University people. I then tried to book a taxi back to Cambridge, almost a two hour wait; I think they are living in the stone age. I could not prebook it because I did not know what time the ceremony would end. So I went to look for a bus to take me back to Cambridge, I had just missed one and they are one an hour. So I waited, the next bus was twenty-five minutes late. Speaking with the locals, this is apparently normal. I did not get back in time to visit my husband as it took three hours to get from Ely to my home, a journey of less than 40 kilometers!
 
Today’s picture is a selfie, which I am rubbish at, with my favourite Ely Cathedral in the background. I also got the lady who “dresses” you in your gown to take a picture of me, which I have included as an extra.
 
The temperature at noon today was nineteen degrees Celsius.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.