Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Smile!

I have come to have cautiously cordial relationship with social wasps such as this European Paper Wasp.  I saw the yellow face on this one straight away and knew that meant it was a male, which also meant it was incapable of stinging.  Which gave me license to get close and try to catch some of the texture of the compound eyes.  My personal experience is that these wasps are less aggressive than the similar looking yellow-jacket wasp.  The latter being an evil tempered creature who seems to take sport in stinging unwary humans.  Side view in Extra - you have to give them props for being attractively colored at least.

I had a nice FT chat with my parents this morning - always a good way to start any day.  Then this afternoon Hubs and I went to a local nursery and bought a beautiful dwarf red maple for in front of the house, along with a couple of inkberry shrubs.  I also spent several enjoyable hours outside with a camera (well, actually with two cameras).  I saw my first fledgling cardinal of the year - not in a good spot for photos but I'm sure I'll get a shot soon.

Thanks for all the love on my waxwing shot yesterday.  It is a shot that I've been wanting to get for years and I'm so pleased with the way it came out.  Sometimes the photography stars align.  

Dark with almond today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.