Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Dancer

I realized that I hadn't yet posted a ruby-throated hummingbird this summer which I've now put to rights.  I think we currently only have one male in residence and at least one female, perhaps more.  At the moment, things in hummie-land are quiet.  The babies haven't fledged yet (or probably even hatched for that matter) and the male isn't really defending the territory yet.  Things usually take a sharp uptick in July when babies are out of the nest and females are also all at the feeders and the male/s are trying to guard everything.  

He's a handsome little fellow, even though he didn't deign to flash his signature throat at me today.  Stay tuned.

Jax and I just got back from taking a walk/snifari on the Lane and he's now napping.  We'll probably try to get another walk in later; barring that, a game of fetch/chase in the yard.  The chipmunks and squirrels are driving him mad right now - constantly just out of reach but ever so tempting for a terrier mix.

I saw my first Robber Fly (genus Laphria) today munching on a tiny bee.  I wasn't all that happy with my photos but will most likely have opportunities to try again.

I'm expecting to see fledgling Downy Woodpeckers at the feeders soon.  I believe some have fledged are are being fed up in the trees until the parents feel it is safe for them to leave the safety of the woods.  Prepare for cuteness.  Meanwhile, thank you for the continued love on my courting pair of waxwings!

Dark with dried cherries and almonds today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.