Jen60

By Jen60

Another cold, grey and wet day so I used the Park & Ride into Leicester and took this shot of Bow Bridge from the bus on the way into town. According to legend Richard III rode over this bridge on his way to the Battle of Bosworth. The old bridge was demolished in 1861 and the ironwork of the present Bow Bridge depicts the White rose of York, the Tudor rose, the White Boar emblems and Richard's motto 'Loyaulte me Lie' - "Loyalty binds me".

The remains of Richard III were found earlier this year underneath a car park in the Greyfriars area of the city. I wandered through this area on my way into town and there were all sorts of inventive ways of including reference to the King in advertising posters and billboards - will try and take some shots of them when I am next in Leicester.

I also had a look around Leicester Cathedral and on the way in spoke to a very enthusiastic lady -she told me that it has not yet been decided where his remains shall be finally laid to rest but according to her there is no way that Richard will be leaving Leicester! We will have to wait and see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.