Kipsie

By Kipsie

Rubus fruticosus

Blackberry - Now this Rubus definately fruits as it's one of my go to areas every year come blackberry picking time. The flower petals are a completely different shape to my previous Rubus blip. (I must attempt to identify the previous one).
An early visit to the plot. I weeded the rows of beetroot, perp spinach, & rainbow chard. Borage seedlings popping up everywhere. Why don't the sown crops perform so well. Hey ho!! I've left some where they won't be a problem as obviously the wildlife love the borage flowers, I do to, they are very pretty, & edible, although I've never been tempted. Watered, then made my way up to fetch the newspaper.
Down to CK, walked Indie, came across a recently shed adder skin, remains of a Blackbird egg shell, and stripped carcass of a deer, well, head, spine & ribs, remained. Pretty smelly once I got down wind of it. YUK!
Back at Mum's I quickly strimmed the winter flowering jasmine & ivy that forms a hedge along Mum's boundary fence with the neighbour. Rog did'nt arrive so I headed back to Chudleigh. He rang me a bit later from CK so we discussed what DIY needed to be done.  The water butt had a huge split in it which was'nt apparent until it was moved. It was full of water but unaccessible as the tap had perished. Never mind. South West Water are offering free water butts apparently, well, we have a hosepipe ban, it's been in place for amonth or more now so we need to save as much water as possible when it rains.
Lunch then I did some tidying in the garden. Hubby went off to meet a mate. I got everything together to make a batch of cottage pies for Mum, set the meat base going, then picked in the laundry, & worked my way through the pile while watching Tipping Point, & The Chase. Sauce complete, iroining pile gone. Time to  top the cottage pies with creamed potato, & make dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.