A day in the life

By Shelling

National day

For the ninth year, on Swedens national day, some drifty people are organising a Windfestival on my island, "Öland Vindfestival". In tourist brochures this island is marketed as "Island of sun and wind". During the opening of the festival the wind-ensemble is playing and a home-made wind meter is started by uncovering it and waving a flag.

More people than usual were gathered this year, the weather being absolutely brilliant and a parking was hard to get. Everyone brought fika and a blanket, this is an occasion where all the family are present, from grandfather to the newly born. Each family has brought at least one kite but you can also build your own and get help by the kite doctors if something goes wrong. Some are in charge of the paint, for those who wants to decorate their new built kite. Everything is so extremely friendly. 

My kite is very stable in the air, I usually reel it out and fasten it to my chair so I can have a coffee and watch everyone else, you can see it to the far left in the second extra. Unfortunately someone next to me dropped the line and her kite took off into the sky, free at last! but the line got caught up in mine and I had to quickly get my kite down to rescue her kite, with the result that my line got severely tangled. While I tried to fix the mess, my kite was still in the air, extra, when someone else flew into my kite and I ended up in a complete tangle between the two kites. That was that for the day, it got to be a scissors job in the end to cut the lines off. 
But what a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.