Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Daisies and Foxglove

Seen from the overlook  bench at the top of the hill.   It’s such a pleasure to sit there and not just see Broom.  The same neighbor that cleaned up and made the green meadow has almost eradicated broom off this steep hill and this end of the island.    (you can see some dead stuff on the left in the extra which he will burn (next fall)….It doesn’t take long for the ox blood daisies and the digitalis purpura to appear.   I learned more about the toxic properties of foxglove sitting there today from H (ever the pharmacist)   It is indeed poisonous and also used for digoxin the heart med.  (I actually took it at one point)    Do not make tea from it!   I loved some of the names given to it…Fairy’s gloves,  Thimble, Fairy cap (I think the fairies live near them, it's said they get annoyed if you pluck them.  ) Also Witch’s gloves or Dead Man’s bells because of their poison.

June 6 today,  D day, my parents anniversary (1936) and Swedish National Day (which I also just learned….we have a Swedish flag we used to fly but it’s all faded and too hard to put up.  but we’re looking at it!)

A rather nice goldfinch portrait on my other journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.