Last of autumn

As I went to bed on Tuesday night I peeked through my curtains and the world was white. When I shuffled off to the loo during the night it was still white with snow. Sometime in the small hours it rained and by yesterday morning patches and steaks of snow remained.

I can't remember snow in Christchurch in May.

When I got home from work late yesterday a few week blobs of snow remained. The nearby Port Hills were well speckled though. Not surprisingly my world was frozen this morning. Frosted fence, frozen puddles and the cat's water bowl outside the front door was partially frozen.

Winter came early but we've returned to autumn. It's a stunning afternoon and it feels balmy too. Come the next big blow or storm I think this single leaf will surrender to the inevitable creep of winter.

Day 2 in the car for hpx. I have itchy feet and a hankering for my bike. I'm definitely on the mend but taking a cautious approach. If that nasty looking weather system slides off some place else, I'm out of here for the long weekend and into the mountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.