Toi toi, Ohau B and Aorangi Mt Cook

I'm back in the Waitaki Lakes/McKenzie district area for the long weekend.

Now I'm here I'm glad but the last few days have been busy and stressful as I juggle work with packing up home to more out for earthquake repairs.

But all of the above makes hxp a very dull woman, so off I am :-) We stopped for a couple of hours fishing on the Ohau B canal on our way to Otamatata. Ohau B and are the last of the canals in the hydro system across the McKenzie district. At the end is another power station before the end of Ohau C discharges into Lake Benmore.

No fish caught but as is often the case there were some magnificent salmon porposing or leaping. As the sun dipped so did the temperature. Around 4.30-5pm as the nations heat pumps turned on, the water level rose and the flow increased. That's the way it works, as power demand rises they crank up hydro power production.

A very pleasant spot

Dinner at the Otamatata Pub followed by rugby, the Canterbury team playing I have no idea who. It was so boring I fell asleep :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.