Power to the people

We fished on Lake Aviemore today, one of the Waitaki Valley hydro lakes. I can't begin to describe how cold it was. I had 8 layers of clothing on. Oh, and up to 3 hats plus my parka hood when the wind got up!

Technically I'm probably in Otago when I took this photo of the southern edge of Canterbury. The lakes are the border between the 2 provinces.

It's rugged, beautiful with high tension power lines part of the landscape

Aviemore has a narrow top section and parts of it see little sun. We felt our first sun at 10.40am. Blimey we were pleased to see and feel it!

The boat I was on was in conservation mode. That means we only caught one fish all day. My fish, my rod and it went back. We had a lot of fun and later after warming up I enjoyed a walk behind the small town of Otamatata.

Yesterday - Toi toi, Ohau B canal and Aoraki Mt Cook

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.