Marionb

By Marionb

One More...

..makes FOUR!  Four protests during our stay in Toulouse..so far....and we are hoping there will be no more! 

We had lots of warning for this one and stayed in the hotel where we had a great view of the proceedings from my window. First the police brigade (extra) at the head of the "parade", followed by a seemingly endless stream of peaceful protesters carrying banners, flags, and signs, singing, chanting and beating drums and at times, accompanied by vehicles with sound systems and huge balloon shaped structures bearing the insignia of major unions. (extra)

From what I saw, everything was well under control..and I have heard nothing to the contrary. Actually I have heard not much at all about how things went. I have only seen competing estimates of numbers of protesters who showed up here and across the country; the police versions were always much much lower of course, than the union versions!  

So now we hope that all will be well at Toulouse airport as well as at Charles De Gaulle by Saturday morning. There should be enough time before then for the airports to make up for any flights they had to cancel...and to get back on schedule. 

Once all the excitement on the street was over, I went down to the lobby and switched the TV over to the French Open for the afternoon. I was joined by a really nice woman who seemed to know a lot about tennis and the participants and commentators...I was quite impressed as I am not so informed... Turns out that is no wonder she was so up on tennis - she at one time had been married to a famous tennis player who years ago won this very competition!  How neat is that? You do meet the most interesting folks on these trips! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.