Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Bronzed Cowbird

You might think of this bird as some sort of pest (like a crow) based on its color and the name Bronzed Cowbird (Tordo Ojirrojo in Spanish).  But it's beautiful. A breeding migrant from Mexico and Central America, it is 20 cm long with a wing span of 33 cm. The Bronzed Cowbird is stocky and big-headed. Males are black overall with bluish wings and tail, and a striking red eye. It often fluffs up its neck feathers.

New to my life list, it follows that it is my first picture. I hope its beauty can be appreciated by those who see it, especially in person. Casual visitors to the canyon are mostly interested in the hummers and turkeys.  

It was a nice way to wrap up this trip to Madera Canyon. I'll still take a day trip now and then but my next stay will be in mid-July, during the monsoon.

In other news...I have a painful, swollen foot and ankle which started up the day before my trip. Being sent for a vascular consult. At this point, I'm not concerned. It's probably just too much salt.  :-)
--------------------------------
I recently tried to write a book on birds.
It was too difficult.
I should have used paper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.