The holiday has come to an end. We’ve had a fantastic time. I took a few final photos in the garden and have added some from a few days ago to make a collage.

The trains got us to Geneva airport on time but there was a long queue for baggage drop. Fortunately passports and security were running more quickly. We grabbed drinks on the way to the gate and only had 10 minutes to sit before we were called for the flight. Once everyone had boarded the captain informed us that there was a 1hr 40min delay due to the French air traffic controllers strike, though we might get away sooner. 50 minutes later we took off.

We were quickly through Manchester airport thanks to Jason having paid for fast track and despite the delayed take off I was still at the railway station half an hour before the train to Windermere was due to leave. The journey was fine until north of Lancaster when it was announced that the train would be terminating at Oxenholme. There was no explanation why and no apology.

A lot of people stepped onto the platform at Oxenholme. The next train to Windermere was over an hour (if it turned up) so I took time to think (and use the toilet). I wasn’t paying for a taxi to Ambleside and no one else I spoke to was going that far. I decided the best option was to get a taxi to Kendal bus station for £10 and then the 8.10 bus to Ambleside. I was home sooner than if I’d waited for the train.

Two mugs of tea, a bar of chocolate, and a bit of unpacking then it was time for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.