litl hikes

By litl

Back in my own bed last night but I didn’t sleep well. The morning was spent unpacking, clothes washing and plant watering. After lunch I fell asleep for 2 hours.

Very unusual for me but I didn’t feel like going out to find a blip. I’ve ‘created’ one, combining the view we had from the chalet and a screenshot naming the mountains.

A few reflections on the holiday:

The footpaths from the station to our chalet were steep (much harder work than Ambleside) and my fitness has improved.
The trains were clean, punctual and tickets were rarely checked.
We probably did all the touristy things but with two young children higher and long walks were never going to work.
It was great to be together as a family.
We ate a lot of local cheese and meats and drank many bottles of Swiss wine.
All the public toilets I used were clean and free.
The best value activity was the pool in Martigny.
Jane’s planning and booking (flights, accommodation, Swiss half price railcard and PO travel card), Ewan’s rail timetable, menu and shopping skills, and Jason’s exceptional ability to get us through the airports hassle free all contributed to a great holiday.
The funniest moment was when an elderly French speaking couple approached us at the local station wanting to know if the train on the other platform was going to Chamonix.
The weirdest experience was listening to the wolves in the zoo howling some mornings and evenings.

Oh, I nearly forgot to mention the fabulous scenery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.