pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Winners and Sinners

I had been looking forward to this match.

It was West Ham’s chance to win their first major European trophy since 1965, so it was very much A Big Deal.

M’boy wasn’t meant to be with me tonight, so we’d scheduled in a lad’s night allowing us to watch the match together. I was surprised, but delighted when - as a resolute Chelsea fan - he came downstairs wearing a West Ham shirt I’d jokingly bought him years ago. For the evening he was going to be an honorary hammer, which was alright with me.

I was disappointed at the actions of some of my moronic fellow hammers fans who seem to think it acceptable to throw stuff onto the pitch and at the players. Way to try and sully a golden moment you brainless fudgewits. To counter though, kudos to our soon to be departing captain and co for going over and telling them to calm down and pack it in.

The first half wasn’t great, but in the second the game burst into life and in the dying moments when the ball was slipped through to Jarrod Bowen who finished sublimely, m’boy and I were up and out of chairs, dancing round the room, high diving and cheering like mad things. Added on time seemed to last a decade, but at the final whistle the boys had done it!

So proud of their achievements and whilst I am gutted that he will be leaving, really pleased that Declan Rice’s last act will be to lift that trophy.

COME ON YOU IRONS!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.