PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb

Now that I've gone a couple of weeks without coughing, and recovered from the tummy bug, I'm feeling better than I've felt all year. Suddenly struck me: that tummy bug effectively provided colonic irrigation. People pay for detox treatment - we got it free! I've decided it's good for us, once in a while. 

Warning: my title reflects the content of the following blurb and you may wish to fast forward! 

Last night I slept well and woke refreshed at 6.00a.m. I made a list of all the things I wanted to do today, by the end of which I felt a headache coming on. Then I thought, Eh-up! Instead of letting it give me a headache, get up and get on with it! So I did. This was made easier as the first thing on the list was Have a bath. Most relaxing! And then despite the strong wind, I dressed for warm weather in shorts and tee-shirt. Thereafter ticked off on my list were (not necessarily in this order): do the ironing, bake banana loaf, harvest rhubarb, empty a garden compost bin and move it and any 'unready' contents to another part of the garden, go for a walk (that was lovely and I saw two small copper butterflies - but no photo), and do some knitting. 

There were a couple of other things on the list that didn't get done. This has, without doubt, been my most productive day since I first went down with that weeks-long cold and cough and migraines, etc. I think I've turned a corner. Ooh, and my digital list now has several digital ticks in place. (I do know there's a delete button, but where's the fun in that?!)

Only fly in the ointment: the state of Mr PP's hip prevented him from joining me on the walk, but today and yesterday he has experimented in the kitchen with two new recipes. Each proved delicious. I helped out with the eating bit! And when he said we had some cream that needed using up, I nipped outside, cut this rhubarb and, half an hour later, we were enjoying fruit crumble! 

If you've done double that amount of work today, please indulge me, and don't let me know! ;-))

Thanks for all the kind comments on my yesterblip. Have a lovely weekend, blipmates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.