JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Rocket flowers

The rocket in my greenhouse is flowering and I liked the patterns of plants and shadows on the floor. I've been eating it as fast as I can, big handfuls in salads, between slices of bread, on pizza, for several weeks, but I'm the only one here who eats it, and it's always quick to run to seed. I don't mind: I like the flowers - the four-petalled shape is unusual, and the creamy white is pretty. They are good to eat too, and a pretty garnish for salads. 

I had a sunny, cheerful day: a good yoga class, then several hours in the garden, potting another batch of tomato plants in their large pots, planting up another tub of J's sunflowers with nasturtiums around them, pricking out the chard seedlings, weeding, watering, clearing... It was breezy and not hot, perfect weather for working outside, and J had M supporting her with her online film group and later a quiz game and chat with a friend.  After M left, she joined me out on the deck for ice cream, cat cuddles and a chat, and was excited to tell me more about the film festival her care centre is organising at the end of July. A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.