Joan’s blips

By Keepingitsimple

Amethyst

I have had this stone for more years than I can remember. It is suppose to represent calmness in some circles, wealth in others. It is considered the ‘all purpose’ stone. I like its look and have it for decoration.

I was amused to discover that the term amethyst derives its name from the Greek word ametusthos … which means ‘not intoxicated. Apparently it was once worn to stop becoming drunk. I have not drunk alcohol for decades as I don’t like the taste. Maybe it is a bit wasted on me in that regard. 

I like it when the sun shines on it and it sparkles a little. 

The temperature today was beanie, gloves and wool lined coat for our first walk and sun hat and sunscreen for our last walk. Our interesting winter … this time round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.