YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Wedding Anniversary

Today would have been my parents 79th wedding anniversary.  This photo was taken about 7 months after they got married.

They were married the week of D-day.  Not sure how they managed that as all leave for the armed forces was cancelled.  My mam just found out 48 hours beforehand that the wedding would be able to go ahead.  I can only think that as my dad was a submariner he was not greatly involved in D-day.  His best man (who was also in the navy) made it as well.

For their 1st wedding anniversary they were not together as although the war in Europe was over, my dad was still on a submarine in the Far East and I do believe they were involved in heavy fighting.  

From his Certificate of Service it appears he was demobbed on 17th March 1946 but joined the Royal Fleet Reserve on the 18th March 1946 until 13th August 1949.  In total he was in the navy for almost 13 years joining as a 17 year old boy in November 1936.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.