Kaybees Bits

By Kaybee

A Meeting Of Minds

Sorry - that should be 'Mice' - not minds.

It has been a productive day (of sorts).

I have been down to the shops ... twice!  Once at 7am for a 'normal' shop and once at 9am because the butcher department in a different store (which opens at 6am and had been advertising discount on steak) doesn't open until 9am (which they don't advertise).

I topped up the pond ( which was down by about 5"-6".

I cut down part of the False Caster Oil plant, part of the Contorted Hazel (which has through up un-contorted stems) and part of some kind of Fir.
This was all shredded and taken to the tip, along with some Cherry which has been lying in the garden of years (and years) and was well past doing anything with.
I also trimmed more of the hedge. That lot will be going to the tip tomorrow.

Since I was on a roll and didn't want my back to seize up be just sitting after all that work, I took the remaining bit of Cherry - which looked like it may (or may not) have some usable life to it, despite having some fairly major splits - into the garage and ran it through the bandsaw .... and indeed, virtually all of it should be usable. In fact, I even made a small dish out of one piece. It is only 3" x 1 1/2" (everything will be small) and 'interesting' to work because of the decay, but that decay adds some great interest to what is normally quite a plain wood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.