MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Geocache maintenance

Went to replace one of my geocaches today. Decided to move its final location as the place where I originally put it was much busier than I had expected. 
Photo is of my attempt to get good coordinates at the hide - couldn't get good ones due to tree cover so opted to measure them a few feet from GZ, close to the path. This worked a lot better. I know geocachers like spot on coords but a few strides shouldn't matter, especially as it's pretty obvious where the cache would be lying, especially if you read the hint!
I had a reasonable walk there as I had a look around for a suitable site for the cache. I managed to go over on my right ankle due to a hole in the ground that was obscured and that was painful. It keeps giving way now and my other leg occasionally gives way due to the sciatica. What a disaster I am! 
The cafe was open at the Country Park where I replaced my cache - that's the first time it's been open when I've visited. It was quite tempting because they sell not only hot drinks but cold ones and ice cream. However, I wanted to get home before my car was too hot to bear and before I melted.
It was baking hot today and I was glad I had a UV brolly in the boot of my car. I checked out temperature gauge a couple of times and it was 29.7C in full shade in our back garden, at one point, this afternoon. Hence, we were indoors!
We just had a storm (evening) and I am pleased to see some rain for a change as otherwise I'd have had to water the whole garden. I can't recall last time it rained. We have a lot of garden since we are a corner plot and a house built in 1928. The plants needed this rain but I hope it doesn't mean we have returned to grim weather on a daily basis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.