MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Sunday stuff

Photo is of one of our newer peonies - its first flower. It's in a pot at present but I will plant it out when it has grown a bit more and when i can decide where to put it.
Had a walk this morning. Baking! I popped some tubigrip on my ankle which kept it stable but hot! I was only going to walk to The Clegg and round it (local fishing pond) but I ended up carrying on after that and walking to Sherdley Park and walked slowly around there a bit. I did ask Terry to pick me up from there though. Thank goodness I had a UV umbrella with me as I think I'd have fried otherwise, even though I had my sun lotions on. There was little breeze which always makes it feel hotter.
Have had a look in the garden this afternoon but it was only for a few minutes as it was far too hot. It got to around 28C in the shade in our back garden and that's10 degrees hotter than I am comfortable with. I felt drained by the heat and had to have a nap late afternoon.
I used to be able to tolerate heat better than this - maybe it's an age thing?
We've seen baby sparrows in the garden this afternoon. On the fence, their parents feeding them. We've been seeing an occasional greenfinch and of course, the usual goldfinches, sparrows, robins, blackbirds and tits. Plus some birds we can't identify that come only now and again and don't stay long enough to get a photo or a good look.
It's 5 to 9 in the evening now and still feels hot and humid but the sky looks grey so we may get a drop of rain. If not I must remember to top up the bird baths tomorrow.
The hedgehogs are still coming and every night at present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.