While on my runs

By waipushrink

No footpath on either side.

The rain storm at the end of January damaged many roads, as well as houses in Auckland. Today, I had a jog past Tangiwai Reserve on Huia Road for the first time since then. I had seen this collapse of the edge of the road into the creek which flooded over the road at this point. Nothing has been done for this little piece of the road except to put a few cones and a sign to ask pedestrians to cross the road and walk on the road toward oncoming traffic.

I am sure that my response (after crossing the road to take this photo) of going beside the cones is the usual response. It is far safer to stay on that side of the road, than cross with a corner only 40 or 50 m away.

That nothing has been done is unsurprising as there are many bigger, more dangerous and impactful places which need to have work done. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.