Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Ringlet

I think it's a ringlet rather than a meadow brown but as ever I'm happy to be corrected.  Whatever it is it would not sit still for me - the very epitome of a butterfly brain. I was pleased to see it as there have been so few butterflies in the garden this year. 

We had useful rain overnight and this morning. Very helpful though not enough. The ground is still very dry and it's rather humid. Did a bit of work in the room the children use and turned out a few past their best objects. The bed is all ready now for my grandson who will be here later for what is turning into his regular Sunday sleepover. I'm so pleased he wants to stay and it makes Monday morning easier all round. 

It's my elder granddaughter's birthday today. Happy eighth birthday to lovely E. We had a very good party yesterday and sat in the garden the whole time. There was lots of food, cake (of course),  games, bubbles and the five children present all did well. The nicest thing though was how appreciative E. was of the gifts she was given. She received lots of books and demonstrated her impressive reading  ability. She is growing into a kind, thoughtful and caring young woman. Her mum and dad kept the party going admirably and the four year old younger sister managed to be gracious about not being the birthday girl. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.