Northern Star

By Lifferz

Oedemera nobilis

Quite a tiny thing but fabulous colour. Western European flower beetle (apparently!)

Just spotted her climbing around on the edge of the bathtub. Also known as a swollen leg beetle as the males have big bulbous legs that look they’ve been over doing gym weights and anabolic steroids. The females don’t have swollen legs so this must be a lady beetle :- ) I’ve been told since posting this blip that this insect is a female thick legged flower beetle, see comments below.

Made myself a very nice cooked breakfast this morning and then the rain came battering down.

I decided to clear the Ivy that is possibly coming from our garden and going into two of my neighbours gardens. It’s a job I do usually once a year so it’s not too arduous in terms of the stuff is never very badly established. It took about and hour and a half and then I had to stop (so very close to completing the task) as I cut my finger very badly on something. I stopped immediately to get it disinfected and bandaged up as I’m on my own this weekend and realised all my neighbours were out for the day. Feeling pretty great now and definitely won’t be passing out. Pleased that my GP surgery told me a couple of years or so ago that I didn’t need any more tetanus jabs in my lifetime as I’ve apparently had 7! The last one was received after I cut myself when climbing on a metal version of Anthony Gormley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.