Bom

By Bom

Beaver Walk at Sculthorpe Moor

Yesterday evening I went on an organised walk at Sculthorpe Moor Nature Reserve. We were taken over to the enclosed part of the reserve not accessible to the public, but where they released two beavers last year. They quickly paired up and have now built three separate lodges - perhaps trading up as they now have two kits. We were very lucky to get a few glimpses of one of the beavers, and could hear it munching away on some leaves. Obviously photography was challenging to say the least, in lower light and with lots of vegetation to photography through - so manual focussing was required. As I've spent the afternoon editing my photos, I hope this isn't cheating too much to post them today. I've also added a mono photo of the beaver swimming as an extra, plus another collage of a kite flying in the late sun, plus the sunset as I was leaving the reserve around 9:15. What a fabulous experience. 

I'm now watching the start of the men's final at the French Open - obviously I'd like Casper Ruud to win. It's nearly 29C with full sun here today - my head's not coping well with the temperature changing from 12C three days ago and it's making me feel a tad nauseous! This morning when sitting in the garden I heard a strange noise coming from the hedge and when I investigated it was a very large moth - I suspect a hummingbird hawk moth. Of course, by the time I'd got my camera it was nowhere to be seen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.