PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Leaf-cutter Bees

Bee, you see me
as a threat.
Clutching your bit of leaf,
you raise your buzz
to full volume
as you fly round me,
circle my head, 
again and again.

I stand, still as a statue,
and wait.
And at last you leave me be.
Down you go to that crack
between slabs,
down to deliver your leaf.
Then, as you reappear,
along comes another.

© Celia Warren 2023

A very hot day. Went to a summer fair in the next village, raising funds for little Miss B's Nursery/Pre-School. It was held in the grounds of the village primary school. (LMB will start there in September.) As soon as the little girl was back home, she changed into her swim suit and was in the hot tub in a flash. The perfect place to be!

Mr PP braved the heat to achieve lots of gardening progress. He's still busy clearing much of the debris left behind by the previous owners, and reclaiming space for veggies (probably next year)!

He also cooked us a delicious dinner. I am so lucky! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.